MENUMENU

Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

Dignity for All Students Act (DASA): NYS’s Anti-Bullying Law

All children have the right to attend school in a safe, welcoming, and caring environment. DASA specifically ensures this for New York State public school students.

The Dignity for All Students Act (The Dignity Act also known as DASA) was signed into law on September 13, 2010. The legislation amended State Education Law by creating a new Article 2,Dignity for All Students, and revising Section 801-a regarding instruction in civility, citizenship, character education, tolerance, respect for others, and dignity. It combats bias-based bullying, harassment, and discrimination in public schools, and includes awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people including individuals of different races, weights, national origins, ethnicity, religions or religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexes, sexual orientations, gender identities or expressions.

  • Highlights of the new law, effective July 1, 2012:
  • All public elementary and secondary school students are protected.
  • DASA prohibits the harassment and discrimination of students by students and by school personnel.
  • Our school’s Code of Conduct has been amended to reflect the prohibition of discrimination and harassment of students by students or staff in age-appropriate language.
  • Incidents of bullying or bias-based harassment are reported to the NYS Department of Education

Information FROM: http://capsli.org/dignity-for-all-students-act-dasa/

To report harassment, hazing and/or bullying, please use the Dignity for All Students Act reporting form.

DASA Coordinators

School 12 – Elizabeth VonEitzen voneitzene@troycsd.org
School 2 – Jennifer White whitej@troycsd.org
School 14 –  Lauren Reynolds reynoldsl@troycsd.org
 School 16 – Catherine Culkin-Boice boicec@troycsd.org
School 18 –  Lisa DiTroia ditroial@troycsd.org
CHS – Alexandria Phillips phillipsa@troycsd.org
TMS – Sonya Shaw shaws@troycsd.org
THS and District Coordinator  Christine Dauphinais dauphinaisc@troycsd.org